Skip to content ↓

Student Wellbeing

Corsham6th Tutors, Pastoral Care & Well-being
At Corsham School, the pastoral care extended throughout the school is very important to us.  Relationships between students and staff are strong and a caring, friendly atmosphere is evident.  Corsham6th Students have a new tutor in Year 12 and stay with this tutor for Year 12 and Year 13. We operate a vertical tutoring system in Corsham6th to enhance the student experience. We aim for our year 13 students to show the year 12 the ropes in terms of study, organisation, UCAS applications and EPQ projects. 

Students meet their tutor twice daily in Year 12 and at least once daily in Year 13.  The tutor gets to know students personally, monitors attendance, gives out notices and letters and encourages involvement in extracurricular activities.  They also provide academic mentoring, as a tutor group and termly on a 1:1 basis, and assistance with planning for the next stage.  

 

We also have Mindfulness and Yoga sessions which run at lunch time and are hugely popular and have a significant impact on student well-being. These are run by Ms Elmer and Mrs Everson respectively. More Information can be found on the Corsham6th Bulletin

Tutors also provide guidance in the following areas: 
 
Corsham6th Standards 

  • Attendance and punctuality 
  • Personal organisation 


Independent Learning 

  • Effective learning habits, behaviours and skills 
  • Revision planning, memorisation and examination technique 
  • Making the most of resources available to support learning 

 
Futures

  • Planning for destinations after leaving school 
  • UCAS applications 
  • Careers information 
  • Study skills 

 
Our tutors, and their contact details, are detailed below: 

6B1 Mr D Brown
DBrown@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6B2 Mrs K Everson
KEverson@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6F1 Mr A Davis
 Adavis@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6F2 Ms A McGhee & Dr C Sage
AMcGhee@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6S1 Mr P Wilkes
PWilkes@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6S2 Ms C Elmer
CElmer@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6S3 Mr L Howard
LHoward@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6H1 Mrs L Basley
LBasley@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6H2 Ms May & Mrs S Hughes
JMay@corsham.wilts.sch.uk & SHughes@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6H3 Mrs Humphreys 
SHumphreys@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
   
   

Tutors are the first point of contact for parents and write reports and references for students during their time in Corsham6th. Mr Smith, Director of Corsham6th, and Mr Clarke, Deputy Director of Corsham6th, are also available to students and parents:

Mr C Smith - AHT - Director of Corsham6th

CSmith@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

Mr L Clarke - Deputy Director of Corsham6th

LClarke@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

 In Year 12 Mr Clarke is responsible for EPQ lesson and organises the CORE curriculum.  The CORE curriculum includes careers advice and we regularly have outside speakers in from universities and other organisations.  In the summer term of Year 12, Mr Smith and Mr Clarke launch the UCAS process and guide and assist students through this process from writing personal statements, finalising the school reference, through to submitting applications.