Skip to content ↓

Pastoral Care & Wellbeing

Wellbeing

The school provides various types of support to help our pupils when things aren’t going so well. Apart from their tutor, Head of House or Head of Year 7 who may be able to sort certain issues fairly quickly, the following people and services are on-site if they are needed

First Aid – there are various qualified First Aiders around the school, but pupils can go directly to Student Reception situated in H Block

School Nurse – is available for a weekly drop-in Thursday at lunchtime in the main reception meeting room.

Phone Support

 

 

 

Free support for children 24 hours a day
Tel: 0800 1111

 

 

Websites

Wiltshire Council

Parenting courses - Wiltshire Council There are currently spaces Parental Relationship programmes starting in January 2024 which parents can book directly onto. This includes: 

  • Within My Reach (Virtual via Teams) - for parents who are together
  • Triple P Family Transitions (Virtual via Teams) - for separated parents 

There are also 'Helping My Child with...' courses. 

 

 

 

 

On your Mind Website

https://www.onyourmind.org.uk/ Information for children, young people, parents and carers including links to resources and organisations that can support emotional wellbeing, including counselling. 

 

Anti-Bullying Alliance

https://www.anti-bullyingalliance.org.uk/   Provides tools and information, including support around cyber, sexual and gender related bullying.

 

Epic Friends

http://epicfriends.co.uk/  To support children and young people to help their friends who might be struggling to cope emotionally.

 

Teentalk

https://youngmelksham.org.uk/what-we-do/teentalk Free and confidential support for young people aged 10-25 in North and West Wiltshire. Services are offered face-to-face at their sessions in Melksham, Chippenham, and Westbury. They can also offer telephone/video support for other areas. Referrals can be made by professionals, parents or young people themselves. They also offer solutions, focused on anger management skills and free information sessions by YGAM (Young Gamers & Gamblers Education Trust) with a 75-minute gaming and gambling awareness session for parents, grandparents and guardians.

 

The Mix Counselling Service

https://www.themix.org.uk/get-support/speak-to-our-team/the-mix-counselling-service

The Mix offers a short-term counselling service to help young people under 25. This can be over the phone or on their Webchat service. They will help support young people who are struggling with bereavement, anxiety, gender identity, low mood and self-esteem. The online is webchat counselling (typing) opposed to something like webcam/teams, so may be useful for anyone who has difficulty engaging verbally/talking but prefer typing. You can self-refer using their online referral form.

 

Wiltshire Mind

http://www.wiltshiremind.co.uk/ a local independent Mental Health Charity based in Melksham and provides County-wide services.

 

Rethink

https://www.rethink.org/ Rethink supports people with mental illnesses through a range of services, groups and training.

 

Childline

https://www.childline.org.uk/info-advice/your-feelings/self-harm/self-harm-coping-techniques/Childline offers advice about self-harm coping techniques, in addition to free, confidential support for children 24 hours a day

 

Barnardo’s

https://www.barnardos.org.uk/ Barnardo’s are a charity who have a wide range of support services for young people, including counselling.

 

Charlie Waller

The Charlie Waller Trust is a mental health charity, educating young people and those with responsibility for them, about their mental health and wellbeing. 

Charlie Waller Trust, mental health charity

 

How I Cope: A young person’s guide

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/children-policy-research/how-i-cope-young-persons-guide?mc_cid=66d2eb4d95&mc_eid=174e9f20b4

This website offers lots of short videos to help with teaching strategies to support young people in difficult times.

These videos cover many different topics, including techniques to regulate emotions, positive thinking and distraction techniques.

 

We Heart CBT

https://weheartcbt.com/self-help

This website offers downloaded self-help booklets to help and cope with low mood and difficult emotions. Can be used by teens or for parents with younger children.

Wiltshire Treehouse

Wiltshiretreehouse.org.uk

Wiltshire Treehouse supports children & young people who have been affected by the death of someone important to them. They will be offering a bereavement support programme called NEST near Trowbridge starting in 2024. 

CoRAY

The CoRAY project developed a pack of mental health resources which parents can use to have helpful, open and empathetic conversations at home.

Mental Health Apps

Calm Harm

Reduces urges to self-harm and manage emotions in a more positive way. Free. 

 

Catch It

Learn to manage negative thoughts and look at problems differently. Free. 

 

Cove

(currently being tested in the NHS). Create music to reflect emotions like joy, sadness nd anger to help express how you feel. Free. 

 

DistrACT

Quick and discreet access to information and advice about self-harm and suicidal thoughts. Free

 

Feeling Good; positive mindset

Use audio tracks to help relax your body and mind and build your confidence. Free, with in-app purchases

 

ieso

Connect confidentially and securely with mental health therapists using instant messaging. Free in some areas

 

My Possible Self:  The Mental Health App

Learn how to manage fear, anxiety and stress and tackle unhelpful thinking. Free, with in-app purchases. 

 

Sleepio

An onnline sleep improvement programme, clinically proven to help you fall asleep faster. Free in some areas. 

 

Stress & Anxiety companion

Breathing exercises. Relaxing music and games to help calm your mind and change negative thoughts. Free, with in-app purchases. 

 

Student Health App

Reduce your worries, feel more confident and get the health information you need as a student. Free. 

 

Togetherall

Get round-the-clock support from therapists to help you cope with stress and anxiety. Free. 

 

WorryTree

Notice, record and manage your worries using cognitive behavioural therapy techniques. Free. 

 

 


Pastoral Care

At Corsham School, the pastoral care extended throughout the school is very important to us. Relationships between students and staff are strong and a caring, friendly atmosphere is evident.  

Please see below details of Heads of Houses and Tutors.

Your first point of contact in case of any queries please 

Year 7

Head of Year 7 - Ms Emma Fairbairn       EFairbairn@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7B1        Alice Gould                                     AGould@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7B2        Rebecca McCarthy-Carter            RMcCarthy-Carter@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7F1        Tamsin Pearce                                TPearce@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7F2        Hayley Ghent                                  HGhent@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

             & Sarah Gleave                                SGleave@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7H1       Mairead Rolfe                                 MRolfe@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7H2       James Thedham                              JThedham@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7S1       Sam Bussell                                      SBussell@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

7S2       Chantelle Patton-Hallett                 CPatton-Hallett@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

          

Burlington House

Head of House - Andrea Howard            AHoward@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8B1      Isobel Griffiths                                 IGriffiths@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8B2      Hannah Walker                                HWalker@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9B1      Ben Richards                                    BRichards@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9B2       Lisa Hill                                             LHill@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

10B1     Louise Holden                                 LHolden@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

10B2     Dave Brown                                     DBrown@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11B1     Sophie Westlake                              SWestlake@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11B2     Paul Fletcher                                    PFletcher@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

Freestone

Head of House - Ms Laura Sutton        LSutton@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8F1      Emily Weston                                  EWeston@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8F2      Vinh Dao                                         VDao@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9F1      Bryan Langley                                 BLangley@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9F2      Becky Davison-Smith                      RDavisonSmith@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

10F1    Santosh Balu                                   SBalu@corsham.wilts.sch.uk                                

10F2    Sarah Humphreys                           SHumphreys@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11F1    Caroline Morgan                             CMorgan@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

             & Jen Jenkins                                   JJenkins@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11F2    Eunice Ndiritu                                  ENdiritu@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

Hazelbury

Head of House - Mr Phil White               PWhite@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8H1   Rowena Ewens                                  REwens@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

& Vikki Ericsson                                           VEricsson@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8H2   Richard Curtis                                    RCurtis@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

        & Jen Jenkins                                        JJenkins@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9H1    Emma Vogwell                                  EVogwell@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9H2    Karla Mawby                                     KMawby@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

10H1   Nic Proud                                          NProud@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

10H2   Sara Knight                                      SKnight@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11H1   Sam Lusted                                       SLusted@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

Stockwell

Head of House - Mr Paul Fox                  PFox@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8S1     Liz Killigrew                                       EKilligrew@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

           & Shilvanti Mahmood                      SMahmood@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8S2     Emma Stevens                                  EStevens@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

            & Jen Jenkins                                     JJenkins@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

8S3     Alison Wright                                    AWright@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

            & Stephanie Kynaston                     SKynaston@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9S1     Amelia Coe                                        ACoe@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

9S2     Julia Browne                                       JBrowne@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

10S1   Jamie O'Pray                                      JOPray@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11S1   Alison Crawley                                   ACrawley@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

11S2   Liz Hjelm                                            EHjelm@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

           & Francis McInally (Fri)                     FMcInally@corsham.wilts.sch.uk