Corsham6th Tutors and Pastoral Care 
 

At Corsham School, the pastoral care extended throughout the school is very important to us.  Relationships between students and staff are strong and a caring, friendly atmosphere is evident.  Corsham6th Students have a new tutor in Year 12 and stay with this tutor for Year 12 and Year 13. We operate a vertical tutoring system in Corsham6th to enhance the student experience. We aim for our year 13 students to show the year 12 the ropes in terms of study, organisation, UCAS applications and EPQ projects. 
 
Our tutors, and their contact details, are detailed below: 

6f1 Mr P Robards
PRobards@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f2 Mrs K Everson
KEverson@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f3

Ms S Hawkins
SHawkins@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

6f4 Ms A McGhee
AMcGhee@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f5 Mr P Wilkes
Pwilkes@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f6 Mrs C Collis
CCollis@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f7 Mr D Brown
DBrown@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f8 Mr T Bligh
TBligh@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f9 Ms May & Mrs S Hughes
JMay@corsham.wilts.sch.uk & SHughes@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f10 Mrs Humphreys 
SHumphreys@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
6f11 Ms Beaven
Ebeaven@corsham.wilts.sch.uk 
6f12 Ms C Morgan & Ms Hjelm
CMorgan@corsham.wilts.sch.uk & EHjelm@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

Students meet their tutor twice daily in Year 12 and at least once daily in Year 13.  The tutor gets to know students personally, monitors attendance, gives out notices and letters and encourages involvement in extracurricular activities.  They also provide academic mentoring, as a tutor group and termly on a 1:1 basis, and assistance with planning for the next stage.  Tutors also provide guidance in the following areas: 
 
Corsham6th Standards 

  • Dress code (details below) 
  • Attendance and punctuality 
  • Personal organisation 

 
Independent Learning 

  • Effective learning habits, behaviours and skills 
  • Revision planning, memorisation and examination technique 
  • Making the most of resources available to support learning 

 
Looking Ahead 

  • Planning for destinations after leaving school 
  • UCAS applications 
  • Careers information 
  • Study skills 

Tutors are the first point of contact for parents and write reports and references for students during their time in Corsham6th. Mr Bolter, Director of Corsham6th, and Mrs S Utton, Deputy Director of Corsham6th, are also available to students and parents:

Mr C Smith - AHT - Director of Corsham6th CSmith@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
Mr L Clarke - Deputy Director of Corsham6th LClarke@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

 In Year 12 Mr Clarke is responsible for EPQ lesson and organises the CORE curriculum.  The CORE curriculum includes careers advice and we regularly have outside speakers in from universities and other organisations.  In the summer term of Year 12, Mr Smith and Mr Clarke launch the UCAS process and guide and assist students through this process from writing personal statements, finalising the school reference, through to submitting applications.  
 
Corsham6th Dress Code 

The Corsham6th Dress Code is based on what would be regarded as suitable attire for a young European professional working in an office or office based creative environment.

This could include a combination of jeans /jeans style trousers/chinos or other smart trousers, skirt, dress; shirt, polo-shirt, plain T shirt; jumper, jacket sweatshirts suitable for the workplace so not hoodies. Tops should not be low-cut at the neckline, cut short under the midriff, or see-through. Leggings may be worn with a suitable skirt or long top but should not be worn as a substitute for trousers. Unsuitable slogans are not acceptable.

All clothing should be clean and free from tears and rips. Tracksuit bottoms are not permitted unless worn for a sport related reason. Shorts are permitted but should be tailored, e.g. Chino not denim; length should be slightly above the knee, no shorter. Skirt length should reflect the professional environment and should be a hand's width above the knee but no shorter.

Footwear should be suitable for the school environment so flip-flops are unacceptable.

 

Financial Support 

The Student Support Fund provides financial support towards travel expenses, equipment (including a laptop or iPad), text books, trips, attending Higher Education visits and interviews, a clothing allowance, NUS card, UCAS application and some other course costs to Sixth Form students from low income households.  Currently this is set at household incomes of below £22,000.  Sixth Form students whose household income is between £22,000 and £30,000 assistance is available towards travel expenses. For more information, please email 6thForm@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
 

Please Find information and Powerpoints from our Parents Information Evenings. 

Yr12-success.pptx

Success-in-year-13-2017.ppt