Corsham6th Tutors and Pastoral Care 
 

At Corsham School, the pastoral care extended throughout the school is very important to us.  Relationships between students and staff are strong and a caring, friendly atmosphere is evident.  Corsham6th Students have a new tutor in Year 12 and stay with this tutor for Year 12 and Year 13.  Students staying on for Year 14 will transfer to a new tutor for this final year. 
 
Our tutors, and their contact details, are detailed below: 

C12 Mr P Robards
PRobards@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
O12 Mrs K Everson
KEverson@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
R12 Ms M Wharf
MWharf@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
S12 Ms A McGhee
AMcGhee@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
H12 Mr R Jessep
RJessep@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
A12 Mrs C Collis
CCollis@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
M12 Mr D Brown
DBrown@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
W12 Mr T Bligh
TBligh@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
C13 Mr P Wilkes
PWilkes@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
O13 Ms S Hawkins
SHawkins@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
R13 Ms S Hughes & Ms J May
SHughes@corsham.wilts.sch.uk / JMay@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
H13 Ms C Morgan
CMorgan@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
A13 Ms K Shillaker
KShillaker@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
M13 Ms E Beaven
EBeaven@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
W13 Ms S Humphreys
SHumphreys@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
E13 (Year 14) Ms K Jarvis
KJarvis@corsham.wilts.sch.uk


Students meet their tutor twice daily in Year 12 and at least once daily in Year 13.  The tutor gets to know students personally, monitors attendance, gives out notices and letters and encourages involvement in extracurricular activities.  They also provide academic mentoring, as a tutor group and termly on a 1:1 basis, and assistance with planning for the next stage.  Tutors also provide guidance in the following areas: 
 
Corsham6th Standards 

  • Dress code (details below) 
  • Attendance and punctuality 
  • Personal organisation 

 
Independent Learning 

  • Effective learning habits, behaviours and skills 
  • Revision planning, memorisation and examination technique 
  • Making the most of resources available to support learning 

 
Looking Ahead 

  • Planning for destinations after leaving school 
  • UCAS applications 
  • Careers information 
  • Study skills 

Tutors are the first point of contact for parents and write reports and references for students during their time in Corsham6th. Mr Bolter, Director of Corsham6th, and Mrs S Utton, Deputy Director of Corsham6th, are also available to students and parents:

Mr A Bolter - Director of Corsham6th ABolter@corsham.wilts.sch.uk
Ms S Utton - Deputy Director of Corsham6th SUtton@corsham.wilts.sch.uk

 In Year 12 Mrs Utton is responsible for EPQ lesson and organises the CORE curriculum.  The CORE curriculum includes careers advice and we regularly have outside speakers in from universities and other organisations.  In the summer term of Year 12, Mr Bolter and Mrs Utton launch the UCAS process and guide and assist students through this process from writing personal statements, finalising the school reference, through to submitting applications.  
 
Corsham6th Dress Code 

As students will be mixing more with the local community and as the lower school now has a new, more formal uniform of jacket and trousers or skirt, we wish to reflect that in the Corsham6th Dress Code and have done for the last few years. The Dress Code for Corsham6th students will be based on clothing appropriate for a place of work/employment and students should wear what is appropriate clothing in an office situation. 
 
This could include:  Trousers/skirt suitable for office work (not blue jeans), jackets, shirts/polo shirts (not t-shirts), and jumpers/sweatshirts appropriate for the work place (not hoodies/heavily decorated sweatshirts or ones with unsuitable slogans). This was agreed and developed by the 6th Form Leaders in consultation with the Leadership Group. 
 
Many sixth formers in local schools are expected to wear suits and that would be acceptable dress also.  Short skirts, leggings worn without a suitable skirt/dress, shorts (including trousers that have become cut off shorts), ripped jeans and casual clothing in general, are not appropriate work wear.  Tutors will be able to advise students on this.

Financial Support 

The Student Support Fund provides financial support towards travel expenses, equipment (including a laptop or iPad), text books, trips, attending Higher Education visits and interviews, a clothing allowance, NUS card, UCAS application and some other course costs to Sixth Form students from low income households.  Currently this is set at household incomes of below £22,000.  Sixth Form students whose household income is between £22,000 and £30,000 assistance is available towards travel expenses. For more information, please email 6thForm@corsham.wilts.sch.uk